Dr B N Suresh and Dr. K Sivan awarded the prestigious IEEE Simon Ramo Medal

Dr. B N Suresh, Chancellor of Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology and Dr. K Sivan – Secretary DOS / Chairman of ISRO were honoured with the prestigious 2020 'IEEE Simon Ramo medal' for their outstanding leadership in developing national space program of India and for pioneering space technology.

Image credit: ISRO

This award is for their exemplary work in the field of systems engineering. The award consists of a medal, citation and a cash prize. The ceremony was held today, September 29, 2020 at ISRO headquarters in Bengaluru. The ceremony was attended by Padma Vibhushan Dr. V. K Atre former Chairman of DRDO, Padma Shri R.M. Vasagam former Project Director-APPLE Satellite, Dr. Surendra Pal - Vice Chancellor –Defence Institute of Advanced Technology Pune, Prof. H P Kincha – Chairman-Karnataka State Innovation Council, Prof. Govindan Rangarajan – Director of IISc, Prof. Anurag Kumar – former Director IISc, Prof. Dr. Ramakrishna Kappagantu, former IEEE Region 10 Director,  Prof. Debabrata Das – IIITB, Prof. Radhakanth Padhi – IISc, Mr. Puneet Kumar – Chair- IEEE Bangalore Section and Secretary IEEE India Council and Mr. Harish Mysore – Sr. Director-IEEE India Operations along with ISRO dignitaries. The IEEE Simon Ramo Medal was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1982. It is named in the honour of the distinguished engineering contributions of Dr. Simon Ramo, former Vice Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Executive Committee of Thompson Ramo Wooldridge (TRW), Inc. Dr B N Suresh and Dr. K Sivan are the only Indian recipients of this prestigious award till date.

Source: ISRO