NROL-44 mission's Launch Readiness Review completed

Leadership from ULA, the National Reconnaissance Office and the Space Force today reconvened the Launch Readiness Review (LRR) for the NROL-44 mission by a Delta IV Heavy rocket and gave a unanimous "go" to continue preparations for Saturday's early morning liftoff.

Delta IV Heavy rocket. Image credit: ULA

The countdown begins Friday afternoon, leading to launch at 12:14 a.m. EDT (0414 UTC) from Space Launch Complex-37 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.


The LRR, led by ULA Launch Director Lou Mangieri, took place in the Delta Operations Center at the Cape and virtually via teleconferencing to assess the readiness of the rocket and mission assets, the status of pre-flight processing work and previewed the weather forecast that calls for a 60 percent chance of acceptable conditions. 


At the conclusion of the meeting, leaders were polled and then signed the Launch Readiness Certificate. 


The National Reconnaissance Office is an Intelligence Community element and Department of Defense organization responsible for developing, acquiring, launching and operating America's reconnaissance satellites, as well as operating associated data processing facilities in support of national security. Using NRO data, the National Security Agency, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, and other NRO mission partners produce intelligence products for the President, Congress, national policymakers, warfighters and civil users.


United Launch Alliance will offer live comprehensive countdown coverage from the Delta Operations Center in our automatically-refreshing blog beginning Friday at 3:30 p.m. EDT (1930 UTC), with continuing commentary all the way to liftoff.


Source: ULA